The Deadly 7 ePUB ¸ The Deadly eBook ¹

The Deadly 7 ePUB ¸ The Deadly eBook ¹


The Deadly 7 ❮Reading❯ ➻ The Deadly 7 ➳ Author Garth Jennings – Larringtonlifecoaching.co.uk When eleven year old Nelson's beloved older sister goes missing he is devastated She's his only friend and means the world to him Then his parents join the search and leave Nelson in the care of his c When eleven year old Nelson's beloved older sister goes missing he is devastated She's his only friend and means the world to him Then his parents join the search and leave Nelson in the care of his The Deadly eBook ¹ crazy uncle Pogo a plumber who is working at St Paul's Cathedral in London There in a dusty crypt Nelson stumbles across an ancient machine that accidentally extracts the so called seven deadly sins from his soul The machine turns them into ugly cantankerous and embarrassing creatures who follow him everywhere But there is to these monsters than meets the eye and in this off the wall debut novel about making friends and taking courage Nelson finds that these strange newcomers are just the companions he needs for a uest across the globe to rescue his big sister.

  • Hardcover
  • 352 pages
  • The Deadly 7
  • Garth Jennings
  • 02 December 2014
  • 9781250052759

10 thoughts on “The Deadly 7

  1. Sarah Churchill Sarah Churchill says:

    It's nice to read a middlegrade that's not overrun with poo and fart jokes I mean there is a fart joke but just the one And it actually has a place in the story So yeahNelson accidentally extracts the 7 Deadly Sins from his soul with a machine made by Christopher Wren in St Paul's Cathedral A little history there for the kids And even though this is about the sins and of course each one is the epitome of Gluttony Wrath Pride and all the rest they're still friendly and nice and fun It's not about preaching or teaching it's about a boy going on an adventure with his sins to rescue his missing sister and them all working together And it's a heck of an adventure with a little magic thrown in

  2. Abigail H. Leskey Abigail H. Leskey says:

    35 stars

  3. Alicea Alicea says:

    Alright I'll admit it I'm often drawn to a book because of its cover There's nothing wrong with that Why else would they hire people to make them attractive and spend so much time designing them to be eye catching? And then there's the blurb on the back of the book These can range from evocative cringeworthy perplexing or in some cases spoiler y Even after reading the back of the book jacket of today's book and seeing the title and looking at the cover image I was still surprised to discover just what this book was about Maybe you're all smarter than me Can you guess what Deadly 7 by Garth Jennings is about just from the name? What if I told you that it was about a little boy who had 7 little monsters accompanying him on a rescue mission and each of them had a very separate personality? The main character of Deadly 7 is Nelson who comes across a machine which creates 7 monsters that only he can see One is always sleeping one is angry about pretty much everything one keeps stealing everything in sighthave you figured out what they are yet? I almost hope you haven't because then I won't feel like such a dolt This is Garth's debut novel but he's no stranger to writing as he was the genius behind the movie Sing However this book is pretty much nothing like that movie This story feels like it could be rooted in our present but with a decided twist There's an ever present feeling of dread while flipping the pages of this book which honestly I think that a lot of kids feel at this age Remember the anxiety and fear when you realized that you were changing and you didn't know into what? Jennings taps into that and uses the monsters as a way to illustrate it which I think is rather brilliant I have to say that the plot of this is kinda all over the place but the writing is solid so I have hope that further books by him will be tightened up and be even better Nonetheless it was a uick read and entertaining and I think it would be a good springboard for conversation It's a solid 610

  4. Daisebeeyourself Daisebeeyourself says:

    DNF Ugh I didn't get to finish this book I was on like the Chapter where Nelson net Uncle Pogo Well the book has no chapters This book was in class so One Day I came into school and realised that it was uiet Reading Time so I picked it up and started ready it There was already a mystery surprise waiting at the start of the book for meI came into school one day I was furious to find another student reading my favorite class book IDC why I just loved the book ^•^But I went to my local Library and found a famous book by Holly BlackYep its The Cruel Prince I would bring it into school and everyone would want to read the book I always carry around 2019 we be flexing booksBut The 22nd of July July came and stole my book this is of a story than review so I decided to go back to reading this book But dat school is mean and kicked all of us Year 6's into The Sumner Holidays ready to enter Secondary and the book you ask? Yeah that's long gone

  5. Angela Angela says:

    A great rollicking story Kids will love this hilarious adventure of a boy and his unpredictable crazy weird monster friends And that's what they are friends They begin as a bother a necessary nuisance for finding his sister but grow into something Since the seven monsters are all part of his soul and miss his sister passionately they feel a pull towards wherever she is like a compass where his sister is the North Unfortunately where she is is halfway around the world How can an unaccompanied eleven year old with no money and seven invisible wildcard creatures travel that far and defeat the evil forces who have her? With plenty of close calls and laughs of course I was thrilled with how inventive this story was The personalities of the monsters and the way that the author managed to express their sin type in kid appropriate ways were very uniue Lust who like the others has another name for instance is able to make one woman turn away at a crucial moment because she is seized with a sudden longing to buy some boots she saw online she just has to have them Envy is a cactus like creature whose uills have an amazing power and so on There are tons of near misses as Nelson races to find his sister and is pursued by a sinister character The pursuer and the rest of the kidnap team are truly creepy in a way that kids should really get into The action builds to a fever pitch and the rescue is done in a great fashion I think that the door is left open for for a seuel which I would love This is a perfect family or class read aloud and a good book for reluctant readers

  6. Ro Menendez Ro Menendez says:

    The story of Nelson and how he comes about having his very own seven monsters The Deadly Seven feels like something Dan Brown author of The Da Vinci Code would write if he wrote a MG novel Nelson's monsters are the seven deadly sins mentioned in the Bible which were accidentally extracted from Nelson's soul when he falls over a contraption created by Sir Christopher Wren in his secret laboratory hidden in St Paul's Cathedral These monsters are not as scary as their backstory might have made them and they are instrumental in helping Nelson find his sister Celeste who has been kidnapped and taken to a magical rain forest in Brazil The story takes place in England and is heavily peppered with British collouialisms foods and humor which some times may be lost on the reader this reader included The story is entertaining the magical elements are believable and written logically so as to not create confusion The monsters are funny and their personalities tailored to the sins they represent

  7. Christine Turner Christine Turner says:

    School Library Journal recommends this book for grades 4 6Personal note Not my first choice for a book Hunters reuest but what we had on the shelf When eleven year old Nelson's beloved older sister goes missing he is devastated She's his only friend and means the world to him Then his parents join the search and leave Nelson in the care of his crazy uncle Pogo a plumber who is working at St Paul's Cathedral in London There in a dusty crypt Nelson stumbles across an ancient machine that accidentally extracts the so called seven deadly sins from his soul The machine turns them into ugly cantankerous and embarrassing creatures who follow him everywhere But there is to these monsters than meets the eye and in this off the wall debut novel about making friends and taking courage Nelson finds that these strange newcomers are just the companions he needs for a uest across the globe to rescue his big sister

  8. Alasia Alasia says:

    The deadly 7 is a good book based on the seven sins coming out of your bodyI like the war the author wrote the monsters as sins but didn’t do it in a to religious wayIn the book a boy with no friends named Nelson sister disappears in Spain so when Nelson is with his uncle in StPauls Cathedral looking for leaks he comes across a machine that extracted his seven sins but the fault was that once extracted they became real life monstersWith these smelly monsters Nelson travels the globe in search for his sisterI would recommend this book to a friend because it’s a very crazy and adventureous book

  9. Claudia - Claudia - says:

    How do you think your life is going to be if your new best mates are seven monsters?Nice and uiet is not the answerThis is an exciting and fast paced book funny a little bit scary but always surprising It is told in a very lively visual way with lots of funny drawings yucky stuff and plenty of great slap stick gags Perfect for fans of David Walliams and Pixar moviesBuckle up you’re in for a wild ride

  10. Ms. QMS Roberson Ms. QMS Roberson says:

    Mysterious adventure for intermediate readers I loved the sketches and lovable monsters

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *